On a Quest for Comfort….Cocoa Makes a Quiche

I felt horrible for most of the weekend, suffering through a pesky summer cold. I didn’t get the opportunity to do most of what I wanted to do because of my late start from moving slowly, runny nose and cough. I did of course have time to run errands because the responsibility of being a mum and wife has no pity on the weary.

After my walk to the grocers I was worn out,  tired and of course HUNGRY. I think everyone knows that if I could take a bite with every breath I would and when I am feeling bad the urge to eat increases ten fold. It’s like curling up on the couch with your favorite warm blanket but instead you can find me with a hot plate and a fork. So with comfort food in mind, I decided I would make a Spinach and Feta Quiche….for the first time. This is what I came up with and how it turned out:

**I NEVER use proper measurements. I make everything to taste**

Ingredients:

1 Roll of ready made short crust…or you can make your own but I didn’t have time for that!

1 Red Onion

4 fairly good sized mushrooms

3 small tomatoes or one large one

Loads of Spinach

Copious amounts of Double Cream (Heavy Cream)

A dollop or two of Sour Cream depending on how you like it

Feta Cheese (lots)

Mature Cheddar Cheese (Sharp White Cheddar Cheese) (lots)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 180°C or 350°F

Follow the directions for preparing the short crust and forming it onto a pie pan

Saute the Red Onion, Tomatoes, Mushrooms and Spinach with a dash of salt and pepper to taste and put aside once finished

Pour the Double Cream and Sour Cream in a saucepan on medium heat

Add in Feta Cheese and Mature Cheddar Cheese until desired texture and consistency

A few dashes of salt and pepper

Combine the Vegetables with the Cheese mixture

Pour the contents into the crust lined pie pan and pop in the oven until the crust is golden brown and the mixture is piping hot.

Take it out, allow it to cool and set.

Plate up and Enjoy!

Finished product:

Spinach and Feta Quiche

Spinach and Feta Quiche

Turned out fantastically yummy. The hubby must have loved it, this is what the pan looked like by morning…..

100_2082

Leave a Reply

