Want to Slap Someone? Go See Donde Carlos.

I’m a true to the heart Southern girl and in the Southern United States when you have a good meal it’s not unusual to say, “This food tastes so good that it makes you want to slap your Mama”.  Well, today marks my one year anniversary and to celebrate our marital bliss “P” took me out for what was supposed to be a romantic dinner. He also knows that the road to my heart is paved with food so he took me to Donde Carlos which serves up THE BEST authentic Colombian cuisine. Seriously, this food was so good that it made me want to slap Carlos himself! This was our first time visiting Donde Carlos and we were more than pleased.

Donde Carlos is situated in Shepherd’s Bush, West London just down Goldhawk Rd. It has been at this location for less than a year but you wouldn’t know it judging by the steady stream of customers. Donde Carlos fits right into the neighborhood which is home to many ethnic restaurants that include Traditional English, Moroccan, Jamaican and Ethiopian cuisines to name a few.

Donde Carlos, 143 Goldhawk Rd, Shepherds Bush London, W12 8EN

Donde Carlos, 143 Goldhawk Rd, Shepherds Bush London, W12 8EN

I know that I was there to celebrate my anniversary and I should have been staring into my husbands eyes but I don’t remember taking my head up from my plate until it was clean! How is that for romance? I can’t even recall if we had a conversation outside of “Mmmm”, “This is phenomenal”, and  “Oh… my… gosh”.

The atmosphere was perfect. Small, intimate, family friendly, music playing. The staff where extremely nice and professional. This place is everything that I needed.

“P” ordered the fried Tilapia and when it came to the table we were both shocked and amazed.  The portions were ginormous, practically spilling off of the plate and the prices were even better.  I had the vegetarian option that came with red beans and rice, fried plantain, salad, cornbread and 2 eggs. Not only did the food arrive promptly after ordering but it was well cooked and seasoned perfectly.

Fried Tilapia, Green Plantain, Rice and Salad

OMG, now that is what you call fish! Fried Tilapia, Green Plantain, Rice and Salad

Fried Plantain, Rice, Red Beans, Cornbread, Salad and Eggs

Fried Plantain, Rice, Red Beans, Cornbread, Salad and Eggs. One word. Delicious.

donde carloss

The downstairs portion of the restaurant houses a shop selling small grocery items and other goodies. I highly recommend Donde Carlos when you are in the mood for some truly wonderful, Mama slapping, good food!

WP_20131005_022

One thought on “Want to Slap Someone? Go See Donde Carlos.

Leave a Reply

